the world academy of sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries


TWAS─Atta-ur-Rahman Prize in Chemistry
This annual award, sponsored by the Dawood Foundation, is given to a chemist under the age of 40, who has been living and working in a scientifically and technologically (ST-) lagging country for a minimum of two years immediately prior to his/her application. The prize is worth USD 5,000. Winners are invited to attend the TWAS General Meeting and present a paper on their work.
Deadline Extended
26 June 2017
Partner Organizations
Eligible Nominees from
Science- and technology-lagging countries
Age limit

The first recipient of the award was announced at the 23rd General Meeting of TWAS in Tianjin, China (18-21 September 2012).

Potential candidates:

Young chemists (under the age of 40), national of a developing country, who have been living and working in a Scientifically and Technologically (ST)-lagging country for a minimum of two years immediately prior to their nomination. All fields of Chemistry are eligible.

For a list of the 66 ST-lagging countries, please visit: The 66 S&T-lagging countries


A pre-screening of the candidates will be done at TWAS, The material on the top candidates will be provided to Prof. Atta-ur-Rahman who will select the winner.

Previous winners of the TWAS - Atta-ur-Rahman Prize in Chemistry

2016 – Bijay Singh, Nepal

2015 – Mirabbos Hojamberdiev, Uzbekistan

2014 – Mohamed Fawzy Ramadan Hassanien, Egypt

2013 – Mohammad Abdul Hasnat, Bangladesh

2012 – Shamsun Nahar Khan, Bangladesh


Application doc(s): 
File af_atta-ur-rahmanprize.docx24.22 KB
Contact email: 
This website does not use profiling cookies, but only first and third party technical cookies, including cookies from social media plugins.
To learn more about our cookie policy or to change your cookie settings, click here.
By using this website and clicking “accept”, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.